GENERAL PURPOSES AND LICENSING COMMITTEE

Extract from the Minutes of the meeting held at 7.00 pm on 22 March 2016

Present:

Councillor Tim Stevens J.P. (Chairman)
Councillor Diane Smith (Vice-Chairman)
Councillors Teresa Ball, Kathy Bance MBE, Ellie Harmer,
William Huntington-Thresher, David Livett, Russell Mellor,
Tony Owen, Colin Smith, Pauline Tunnicliffe and
Michael Turner

149 HONORARY ALDERMEN

Report CSD16048

An informal cross-party meeting had been held to consider potential new Honorary Aldermen, and three candidates had been proposed – former Councillors Ernest Dyer, David Haslam and George Taylor. An amended schedule giving details of their service had been circulated (appendix 1). It was proposed that a special meeting of the Council would be called on 11th May 2016 to approve the appointments.

RECOMMENDED that the following former members be nominated to full Council for appointment as Honorary Aldermen –

Former Councillors Ernest Dyer, David Haslam and George Taylor.

APPENDIX 1 - UPDATED

Nominations for Appointment as Honorary Aldermen

FORMER COUNCILLOR'S NAME	<u>SERVICE</u>	POSITIONS HELD
Ernest Dyer	1990 – 2001 Mottingham Ward	Chairman, Education Committee (1998 – 2001)
David Haslam	1978 – 1994 Biggin Hill Ward	 Vice-Chairman, Development Control Committee (1981-1989) Vice-Chairman, Leisure Services Committee (1989 – 1994) Chairman, Private Street Works Panel/ Sub-Committee (1982/90). Board Member, Biggin Hill Airport Limited (1981/94) and Chairman, Biggin Hill Airport Limited Shadow Board (1994)
George Taylor	1998 – 2011 Shortlands Ward	 Chairman, Area Committee West (2002/03) Portfolio Holder for Environment (2002/06) Portfolio Holder for Public Protection and Safety (2006/07) Vice Chairman, Renewal & Recreation PDS Committee (2009/10) Executive Assistant to Portfolio Holder for Environment (2009/10) Mayor (2010/11)